Our Chair of Council is Councillor Mike Drew. The Vice Chair is Councillor Franklin Owusu-Antwi.

The Chair is elected annually by our councillors and is a non-political role. The role of the chair is to lead official council meetings and represent the council at events.

The Chair and Vice Chair perform important ambassadorial roles, including representing the council at civic functions and chairing council meetings.

They attend events such as official openings of new buildings, launching new projects, award ceremonies, local festivals, concerts, church services, schools and elderly persons homes.

Both the Chair and Vice Chair attend monthly citizenship ceremonies at Kingswood Civic Centre.

If you cannot expand the sections below, try refreshing your browser.

Charity work

Each year the new Chair selects a charity to support for the year ahead, with donations received during that time presented at the end of the Chair’s term of office.

Councillor Mike Drew has chosen to support the Motor Neurone Disease Association for the Bristol and Bath area.

Chair's community awards

The Chair’s annual community awards recognise and celebrate the valuable contribution local unpaid volunteers make to life in South Gloucestershire.

You can see the winners of the individual and community group awards on our Chair’s community awards page.

Events to be attended by the Chair of Council

Wednesday 18 January 2023: Chair’s community awards

Contact the Chair of Council

Contact the Chair of Council by:

Previous Chairs of Council

1995/96 – Councillor Eddie Gadsby

1996/97 – Councillor Les Bishop

1997/98 – Councillor Sue Hope

Councillor Sue Hope

1998/99 – Councillor Rudi Springer

1999/20 and 2000/01 Councillor Arthur Adams

2001/02 – Councillor Alan Bracey

2002/03 – Councillor Jeanette Ward

2003/04 – Councillor Sue Walker

Councillor Sue Walker

2004/05 – Councillor June Lovell

2005/06 – Councillor Alan Lawrance

2006/07 – Councillor Jim Cullimore

2007/08 – Councillor Sandra O’Neill

2008/09 – Councillor Brian Freeguard

2009/10 – Councillor Shirley Holloway

Councillor Shirley Holloway

2010/11 – Councillor Janet Biggin

Councillor Janet Biggin

2011/12 – Councillor Mike Drew

Councillor Mike Drew

2012/13 – Councillor Janet Biggin

2013/14 – Councillor Ian Boulton

Councillor Ian Boulton

2014/15 – Councillor Howard Gawler

Councillor Howard Gawler

2015/16 and 2016/17 – Councillor Erica Williams

Councillor Erica Williams

2017/18 – Councillor Ian Blair

Councillor Ian Blair

2018/19 – Councillor Rachael Hunt

Councillor Rachael Hunt

2019/20 – Councillor Brian Allinson

Councillor Brian Allinson

2020/21 – Councillor June Bamford

Councillor June Bamford

2021/22 – Councillor Ruth Davis

Councillor Ruth Davis

2022/23 – Councillor Sanjay Shambhu

Man with mayors chain around his neck

Beta This is our beta website